And the Driver of the Year is…

And the Driver of the Year is…

HGV Drivers' award night winner

This year’s Microlise Driver of the Year winners have been awarded. The overall winner is Rafal Kolanko from Samworth Brothers. Mr Kolanko won the Medium Distance category and went on to be awarded the overall winner for 2017 at the Microlise Transport Conference.

The competition included over 120,00 HGV drivers, so becoming the winner is quite an achievement. Well done Mr Kolanko, Samworth Brothers must be very proud as their driver Laura Farnsworth claimed the title Young Driver of the Year.

“When we started the awards a few years ago, we intended to focus entirely on drivers and shine a light on the excellent work they are doing day in and day out,” said Microlise Executive Director Bob Harbey. “They really are at the heart of the transport industry and we wanted to use our unique position to review anonymous driving data from hundreds of thousands of drivers to showcase the best performers. All of the winners, those short-listed and the top thousand deserve credit for the excellent work they are doing and the way they conduct themselves.”

The HGV Hero category shows just what HGV drivers are made of.  John Harrington of DHL helped to save the life of an elderly gentleman suffering a heart attack after being flagged down. His counterpart at Eddie Stobart, Robert Brown, attended the scene of a road traffic collision and crawled into a smashed up car to comfort a frightened young girl until the emergency services arrived.

There were a range of organisations represented by their drivers, including: B&Q, Bibby Distribution, Brocklesby, Ceva, Chamberlain Transport, Culina, DHL, DX Freight, Eddie Stobart, Goldstar Transport, Hovis, Muller, Royal Mail, Samworth Brothers, Tesco and Warburtons

These winners all enjoyed a day at the Porsche track courtesy of MAN Truck & Bus UK.

Short Distance

Winner: Michael Young – Culina
Runner up: Alan Cobb – Ceva
Runner up: Anthony Fieldhouse – DX Freight

Medium Distance

Overall winner: Rafal Kolanko – Samworth Brothers
Runner up: Mark Close – Brocklesby
Runner up: Anthony Niles – Culina

Long Distance

Winner: Peter Jones – Chamberlain Transport
Runner up: Jason Jeffry – Goldstar Transport
Runner up: John Seggons – Bibby Distribution

Driver Excellence – Sponsored by Road Haulage Association

Winner: Chamberlain Transport

Extra Mile – Sponsored by Knorr-Bremse

Winner: Stuart  McClellan – Bibby Distribution
Runner up: Neil Salmon & Clive Everson – B&Q
Runner up: Peter Cochrane – Samworth Brothers

HGV Hero – Sponsored by Dunlop

Winner: John Harrington – DHL
Runner up: Robert Brown – Eddie Stobart

Most Improved Driver of the Year – Sponsored by Scania

Winner: Catherine Eastbourne – Warburtons
Runner up: Clive Sutton – Bibby Distribution
Runner up: Michael Roberts – Royal Mail

Young Driver of the Year – Sponsored by Vodafone

Winner: Laura Farnsworth – Samworth Brothers
Runner up: Thomas Virtue – Hovis
Runner up: Grszegorz Kepinski – Muller

Lifetime Achievement – Sponsored by Freight Transport Association

Winner: Richard Ireson – Tesco
Runner up: Paul Thompson – Bibby Distribution
Runner up: John Seeley – Hovis